Most Shared

Local 12 News

Local 12 News

text size

Baseball Writers Association of America Announces Reds Performance Winners

Updated: Friday, December 6 2013, 08:57 PM EST
CINCINNATI (WKRC) -- Friday on the main stage during FOX Sports Ohio Redsfest presented by PNC Bank at Duke Energy Convention Center downtown, the local chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America and the Reds announced their award winners for individual performances for 2013:
CF Shin-Soo Choo (154g, .285, 21hr, 54rbi, 20sb, .423obp) was named winner of the BBWAA's Ernie Lombardi Award as the team's Most Valuable Player.
RHP Mat Latos (32gs, 14-7, 3.16) received the Johnny Vander Meer Most Outstanding Pitcher Award.
RF Jay Bruce (160g, .262, 43 2b, 30hr, 109rbi, 7sb) received the BBWAA's Joe Nuxhall Good Guy Award.
3B Seth Mejias (.305, 11hr, 82rbi at Dayton/Bakersfield) received the Sheldon "Chief" Bender Award as the organization's Minor League Player of the Year.
The organization's other minor league award winners were Hitter of the Year OF Jesse Winker (.281, 16hr, 76rbi at Dayton) and Pitcher of the Year RHP Robert Stephenson (22gs, 7-7, 2.99 at Dayton/Bakersfield/Pensacola).
2B Brent Peterson (Dayton/Bakersfield/Pensacola) received the Minor League Community Service Award.
Information from Cincinnati RedsBaseball Writers Association of America Announces Reds Performance Winners

Advertise with us!

Related Stories




Advertise with us!
Advertise with us!